Note: this is actually an old post. That is, it’s been sitting (with a few other posts) in my “Drafts” folder for quite some time, and I just ran across it today and decided to post it. Here it is…

I was listening to Psalm 62 (“My Soul Finds Rest;” this recording of this arrangement) yesterday and was especially encouraged by the middle verse:

Find rest, my soul, in God alone
amid the world’s temptation;
When evil seeks to take a hold,
I’ll cling to my salvation.
Though riches come and riches go,
don’t set your heart upon them;
the fields of hope in which I sow
are harvested in Heaven.

Of course, in the context of Psalm 62, the specific temptation being warned against is the power of material success to distract us and fool us into thinking that it offers lasting joy and significance. And that temptation is strong.

But how is God a salvation from temptation? Psalm 62 affirms that God is the only source of true glory, that all power is His alone, and that He is our rock and salvation. So when the question is “What do I do when a strong temptation threatens to take a hold of me?,” answering with “I’ll cling to my salvation” is an acceptable paraphrase from the Psalm–not just a handy rhyme.

For David and for us as well, the Psalm reminds us–complete with examples–that God is our salvation both physically and spiritually. What I found most encouraging is that whether in an OT Psalm or a NT epistle, the answer to temptation is never to merely fire up the furnace of self-discipline or inner grit, but to run to God. In temptation, our only hope is to cling to our salvation.

We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. […]  So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus. Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, to make you obey its passions. (Rom. 6:6, 11-12)

The answer to temptation–which is sometimes frighteningly strong–is always found in the Gospel.

