The Christmas season is about to be tucked away for another 11-month nap, along with its decorations, and regrettably, most of its music. I love Christmas and Christmas music, but there’s one thing I find mildly humorous. It’s the only time of year you’ll hear foreign language and art music sung by essentially pop performers. Think of it: Bing sings Adeste Fideles, Bublé sings Ave Maria, Barlow Girl sings Panis Angelicus. What might it be next year? Perhaps Handel’s Messiah, with alto solos by Adele?

Now, Christmas songs are notorious for being performed by people who (presumably) don’t believe them, but that’s not really my point (at least not here). I’m only saying that trying to expand your repertoire and still be true to your personal style sometimes creates odd match-ups.

These recordings certainly aren’t bad–in fact, I was impressed with the Barlow Girl rendition. It’s just that while crooning works magic on “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” and “I’ll Be Home for Christmas,” it’s less magical when paired with Latin texts. There are plenty of songs that fit your style perfectly. Why include others that don’t?

I’m sure it has to do with building balanced albums, and perhaps in obligatory nods to the “old standards” of the Christmas repertoire. But whatever the case, you ought to know that I own some of these recordings, I keep listening to them, and I truly enjoy them. Just let me shake my head as they play.

