In response to a book entitled The God I Want:

“The God I Want? Left to myself, the god I want is a god who will give me what I want… […] All idols started out life as the god somebody wanted.

At the more sophisticated level, the god I want will be a god who lives up to my intellectual expectations: a god of whom I can approve rationally, judiciously, after due consideration and weighing up of theological probablilities. I want this god because he, or it, will underwrite my intellectual arrogance. He will boost my sense of being a refined modern thinker. The net result is that I become god; and this god I’ve made becomes my puppet. Nobody falls down on their face before the god they wanted. Nobody trembles at the word of a home-made god.”

– N.T. Wright, For All God’s Worth: True Worship and the Calling of the Church. Eerdmans, 1997: 23.

